Schools Open But Delayed With New Round Of Chilly Temperatures

WOUB Staff Writer

Updated Tue, Feb 11, 2014 6:03 am

Alexander, Beacon, Athens, Federal Hocking, Nelsonville York, and Trimble Schools in Athens County were operating on a two-hour delay Tuesday morning as subzero temperatures were felt at dawn.

A low of minus 7 degrees was seen on thermometers Tuesday morning in Athens County.

Athens County continued under a level one snow emergency because of those temperatures and remaining slick roads in rural areas.

Other counties under a level one snow emergency Tuesday morning were:

Coshocton, Guernsey, Hocking and Vinton Counties

Other school systems also delayed:

Morgan, Nobel, Waverly, Vinton and Marietta City Schools.