Ohio University Jazz Ensemble To Perform At OU-Zanesville

Posted on:

< < Back to

The Ohio University Zanesville Cultural Committee will host the Ohio University Jazz Ensemble I for a free concert at the Zanesville campus on Wednesday, March 19, at 7 p.m. in the Elson Hall Auditorium.  

The repertoire will include big band arrangements and original compositions by such jazz legends as Count Basie, Chick Corea, Herbie Hancock, Christian McBride, the Stan Kenton Orchestra, the Woody Herman Orchestra and more.  

Joining the ensemble will be new faculty member in the School of Music, Dr. Sean Parsons, a talented jazz pianist.

Those who make up the ensemble under the direction of Dr. Matt James, include on saxophone: Jordan Reed, Sara Hudson, Robert Ward, Julian Howard, and Paul Hess; on trombone: Aaron Brown, Sarah Wnek, Ian Elick, and Josh Boyer; on trumpet: Joe Kuhlman, Nick Simko, Josh Barringer, Noa Miller, and Andrew Boylan; rhythm: Mike Weitzenhoffer on piano; Eli Chambers on bass; David Crider on drum set and Steve Van Dyne on guitar.

For information on the concert in Zanesville, contact Charles Savage, assistant professor of music at Ohio University Zanesville at savagec@ohio.edu or phone at 740-588-1524.