The seventh seed Federal Hocking Lancers may have fallen 58-52 to No. 10 seed Waverly in the first round of the tournament Tuesday, but they showed great resolve over the final minutes of the game to keep it close.

Ohio’s effort has been anything but consistent this season, and the inconsistency continued Tuesday in the Bobcats’ 76-65 home loss to Bowling Green.

The Athens Bulldogs got their playoff season rolling Tuesday when they defeated the Marietta Tigers 63-48 in the sectional semifinal at Logan High School.

Ohio Bobcat swimmers and divers will be at the Mid-American Conference Championships for four days starting on Wednesday.

Here’s what to watch for each day of the 2015 MAC Championships.



Events: 200-yard medley relay, 800-yard freestyle relay

After winning four games in a row by single digits, Meigs was able to get another win in the same fashion defeating New Lexington 54-51 on Monday night.

On Monday, Ohio junior guard Kiyanna Black was named Mid-American Conference East Player of the Week for the second time this season.

The Nelsonville-York Buckeyes’ season came to an abrupt end Monday night after falling to the River Valley Raiders 60-43 at Jackson High School.

Leah Richardson has been the force behind the Alexander Lady Spartans’ success all season and that was certainly the case Sunday.

Behind Richardson’s 28 points, the Lady Spartans beat the Belpre Lady Eagles 66-44 in McAfee Gymnasium.

For a team to make a postseason run, it takes teamwork, confidence and raw determination.

The Nelsonville-York Lady Buckeyes displayed all three Sunday en route to a 60-29 sectional final victory over the Meigs Lady Marauders in McAfee Gymnasium.

After plenty of back-and-forth in Sunday’s dual between Ohio Bobcats and Cleveland State Vikings, No. 11 Tywan Claxton and Sparty Chino sealed a 25-15 Bobcat victory in two of the final three matches.