17 Girls, 15 Boys Earn All-TVC Ohio Honors

Posted on:

< < Back to

Vinton County basketball swept both the boys and girls TVC-Ohio Championships in 2018 and the all-conference teams reflect that well, with four members of each team being selected to the All-TVC Ohio team.

The Lady Vikings finished TVC-Ohio play undefeated and are represented on the all-conference team by seniors Cassie Bentley, Erin Jones and Darien Radabaugh as well as freshman Morgan Bentley. This was the second selection for both Cassie Bentley and Radabaugh.

The Vikings all-conference earners are seniors Naylan Yates, Bryce Damron and Jake Speakman as well as junior Nevan Yates. This was the second selection for both Neylan Yates and Jake Speakman.

On the girl’s side, Nelsonville-York all-time points leader Jessie Addis earned all-conference honors for the fourth time while Alexander senior Rachel Richardson and Meigs junior earned their third All-TVC Ohio honors.

Cassie Bentley and Jessie Addis will share the title of TVC-Ohio MVP.

Justin Grinstead, Alexander head coach, was voted as Coach of the Year on the girl’s side.

Athens junior Justin Hynes and Wellston senior Matt Simpson were the only return honorees on the boy’s side, both earning their second All-TVC Ohio honors.

Vinton County’s Naylan Yates was named as the conference’s MVP and his coach Matt Combs.

All TVC-Ohio Boys

Naylan Yates, Sr, Vinton County (2nd selection)

Jake Speakman, Sr, Vinton County (2nd selection)

Nevan Yates, Jr, Vinton County

Bryce Damron, Sr, Vinton County

Logan Maxfield, Jr, Athens

Eli Chubb, Jr, Athens

Justin Hynes, Jr, Athens (2nd selection)

Dylan Mecum, Jr, Alexander

Caleb Terry, So, Alexander

Matt Simpson, Sr, Wellston (2nd selection)

Decota McKenzie, Sr, Wellston

Zach Bartrum, Jr, Meigs

Weston Baer, So, Meigs

Jarret McCarley, Sr, River Valley

Brayden Allen, Jr, Nelsonville-York

MVP: Naylan Yates (Vinton County)

Coach of the Year: Matt Combs, Vinton County

All TVC-Ohio Girls

Cassie Bentley, Sr, Vinton County (2nd selection)

Erin Jones, Sr, Vinton County

Darian Radabaugh, Sr, Vinton County (2nd selection)

Morgan Bentley, Fr, Vinton County

Rachel Richardson, Jr, Alexander (3rd selection)

McKena Rice, Jr, Alexander (2nd selection)

Kristen Taylor, Sr, Alexander

Jessie Addis, Sr, Nelsonville-York (4th selection)

Mary-Kate McCulloch, Jr, Nelsonville-York (2nd selection)

Haley Hurd, So, Nelsonville-York

Kassidy Betzing, Jr, Meigs (3rd selection)

Madison Fields, Jr, Meigs

Laura Manderick, So, Athens (2nd selection)

Emma Harter, Jr, Athens (2nd selection)

Sydney Mulliins, Jr, Wellston (2nd selection)

Sydney Spencer, So, Wellston

Kelsey Brown, Jr, River Valley

Co-MVP: Cassie Bentley (Vinton County) and Jessie Addis (Nelsonville-York)

Coach of the Year: Jeff Grinstead, Alexander