WOUB Music Blog

Music Blog

Thu, Sep 6, 2012 3:08 pm

These days it seems like local music fans are spoiled for choice, and this weekend is no exception.

Blackout Booking and Peacock Productions, both known for bringing stellar entertainment to Southeast Ohio, will present Sallie Ford & The Sound Outside with special guests Samantha Crain and The D-Rays this Sunday, Sept. 9, at The Union.

Wed, Sep 5, 2012 1:45 pm

Emily Votaw delves into Animal Collective's new assortment of dense, washed-out, bizzare--and captivating--songs.

Mon, Sep 3, 2012 2:01 am

WOUB's Emily Votaw was treated to an evening of high-energy folk, power-pop and orchestral-rock during an ACRN-hosted show at Casa Cantina on Aug. 31.

Sat, Sep 1, 2012 11:42 am

On Friday, Aug. 31, Columbus, Ohio's The Spikedrivers performed at the Final Fridays art gala on Nelsonville's Public Square.

Check out a video of the band's performance, plus a photo slideshow of art exhibits at Majestic Galleries, The Paper Circle and Starbrick Galleries.

Fri, Aug 31, 2012 11:12 am

,

If you're a guitar geek or a fan of vintage six-string wizardry, chances are you've heard of Deke Dickerson, an exceptional guitarist specializing in vintage country, western swing and rockabilly.

Chances are also good that you'll run into like-minded guitar buffs when Dickerson rolls into Athens for a show at The Union on Tuesday, Sept. 4.

Thu, Aug 30, 2012 3:22 pm

Traditionally, Labor Day Weekend in Athens has meant moving vans, out-of-towners driving the wrong way up one-way streets and long lines at grocery stores...but not much in the way of live music.

That's all changed this year. The town will be bustling with students and local, regional and national acts will be out in full-force. Bryan Gibson has a preview.

Fri, Aug 24, 2012 4:38 pm

Mark Hellenberg reviews Election Special, the new politically-charged album from legendary guitarist/songwriter/producer Ry Cooder.

Thu, Aug 23, 2012 1:42 pm

Blues acts, harmonica demonstrations and music competitions are on tap for the third annual Diamond Teeth Mary Blues and Arts Festival, taking place Friday, Aug. 24 and Saturday, Aug. 25 in Huntington, W.Va.

Located at Huntington's Heritage Station, the festival celebrates and honors legendary blues singer and West Virginia native "Diamond Teeth" Mary Smith McClain.

Diamond Teeth Mary may not be a household name, though she had impressive credentials.

Pages