Ohio Swimming And Diving Qualifies Four Divers To NCAA Zone Championships

Posted on:

< < Back to

The Ohio Swimming and Diving team will be sending four divers to the NCAA Zone Championships in West Lafayette, In., after the Bobcats finished 6-3 and second in the Mid-American Conference Championships.

Ohio will be represented by MaryRose Hillstrom, Kristin Capcik, Haleigh Bartlett and Morgan Srail in the Championships. The four have broken several records in the 2012-13 season, with three top-10 scores in both the one and three meter diving competitions.

Capcik holds the three-meter board record (337.35 points) and is second in the program from the one-meter board with 312.9 points. Bartlett broke the one-meter board record with 325.27 points and is No. 4 all-time from three meters with 327.83. Srail and Hillstrom both moved up into the top-five of their respective diving competitions. Srail become No. 5 all-time in the three-meter board, while Hillstrom cracked the top-five with the fifth best score in the one-meter board.

This is the second straight season the Bobcats have sent four divers to the NCAA Zones.

The top 18 of the preliminary rounds qualify for the championship rounds, which also qualifies them for the NCAA Championships. There are five different NCAA Zones, and the Bobcats are in Zone C. The top four finishes in the three-meter, top three in the one-meter and top two of the platform will get automatic bids in Zone C.

The competitions at Purdue University will start on Thursday, March 14. The women’s three-meter diving prelim rounds start at 10 a.m. on Thursday and the one-meter diving starts at 10 a.m. Friday.