RedStorm Play Host To Ohio Christian

Posted on:

< < Back to

The men’s basketball team from Rio Grande will look to feed off of its success in the Newt Oliver Coaches Classic on Tuesday afternoon as it hosts Ohio Christian.  

The RedStorm are coming off of a record-setting 98-70 victory over the Wilberforce Bulldogs in the eighth annual edition of the tournament. The win improved Rio’s record to 7-3, which is its best 10-game start since the 2008-09 season. Rio’s win also halted a four-game Bulldog win streak. 

Phillip Hertz leads the RedStorm in scoring, averaging 15 points per game. The sophomore showcased his talents on Saturday by leading Rio in scoring with a game-high 23 points and 11 rebounds. Senior guard Jermaine Warmack led the team with seven assists, while Wilberforce only had seven assists as a team.

Rio will face a familiar opponent in Ohio Christian (5-9) on Tuesday afternoon. Rio Grande traveled to Circleville for its second road game of the season on Dec. 3 and left the Maxwell Leadership Center with a 70-63 victory. Senior guard Ricky Tisdale shined as he netted a career-high 16 points, including 13 in a second-half comeback effort that lifted the RedStorm to a victory.

Tisdale was one of five players to finish in double-figures for the RedStorm. Ohio Christian remains winless in its six all-time meetings with Rio.

Ohio Christian is coming off of a 71-94 loss to Campbellsville University and is riding a four-game losing streak. The last win for the Trailblazers came on Nov. 23 when Ohio Christian defeated Mount Vernon University 86-77.

Although Ohio Christian has struggled to win in December, the Trailblazers have found a way to produce and stay in games due to the play of Wesley Russell. The junior guard leads the Trailblazers in points, rebounds, assists and steals.  Defense will be a key factor in this game due to the fact that the RedStorm and Trailblazers are both averaging 80 points per game.  

The matchup between the RedStorm and Trailblazers will take place on Tuesday, Dec. 17, in the Newt Oliver Arena. Tipoff is set for 12:30 p.m.