Ndour, Kellogg Named To NABC All-District Teams

Posted on:

< < Back to

Ohio guard Nick Kellogg and forward Maurice Ndour were recognized Wednesday on the NABC All-District Teams, the National Association of Basketball Coaches announced.

Kellogg was selected to the District 14 First Team, while Ndour earned second team honors.

Kellogg is averaging career bests in points (15.3 ppg), rebounds (3.5 rpg), assists (2.7 apg), and field goal percentage (.458) this season. The senior guard has had a hot hand from behind the arc and at the free-throw stripe in the 2013-14 season, as the Westerville, Ohio, native leads the Mid-American Conference with 2.4 3-pointers per game and a .895 free throw percentage.

Kellogg recently broke the school’s all-time 3-pointers made record on Saturday in the Cats’ victory over Miami. The sharpshooter has now knocked down 277 career 3-pointers, which ties him for the most in MAC history.

He is also the reigning MAC East Player of the Week and has earned the honor three times this season.

Kellogg, Javon Mcrea (Buffalo), David Brown (Western Michigan), Julius Brown (Toledo) and Demetrius Treadwell (Akron) made up the NABC All-District First Team.

Kellogg’s award marks the second straight season that the Bobcats have produced a first team pick, as D.J Cooper acquired the award in 2012-13.

Ndour shined and busted onto the national scene in his first season as a Bobcat. The junior forward ranks 11th in the conference in scoring (14.1 ppg) and is seventh in rebounding (7.0 rpg). The Senegal native led Ohio with eight 20-plus point games and four double-doubles in 2013-14.

Ndour, Chris Fowler (Central Michigan), Shayne Whittington (Western Michigan), Rian Pearson (Toledo) and Will Felder (Miami) compiled the NABC All-District Second Team.

Ohio hits the hardwood on Wednesday when the No. 5 ‘Cats take on No. 8 Miami in the second round of the MAC tournament at 6:30 p.m. inside Quicken Loans Arena.