Vick, Carpenter, Edmond, Kristoff Named Ohio Football Captains

Posted on:

< < Back to

On June 4, the Ohio Bobcats named offensive duo Derrius Vick and Tim Edmond and defensive duo Nathan Carpenter and Josh Kristoff as team captains for the 2014 season.

Vick’s choice came as a mild surprise because he hasn’t officially been named the starting quarterback. He is, however, listed as the No. 1 quarterback on the team's initial depth chart, above J.D. Sprague. As head coach Frank Solich said at MAC Media Day on Wednesday, the status doesn’t matter when it comes to leadership.

“He is a great competitor,” Solich said. “No one wants to play better than he does, and no one will work harder at it than he does. That’s a great way to start out in terms of being a leader.”

Vick, a junior, served as Tyler Tettleton’s backup for the last two seasons, playing in 18 games and throwing for 526 yards and five touchdown passes, including four in his only start versus Norfolk State in 2012.

Edmond, a senior running back, saw a lot of time of mop-up duty in 2013, carrying the ball 31 times for 108 yards. During Ohio’s offseason program, Edmond won the Iron Bobcat Award, which is the teams highest honor for their strength and conditioning program.

On defense, Carpenter, a senior, serves as the Bobcats nickelback, oftentimes lining up against slot receivers or running backs. Over his career, Carpenter has racked up 149 tackles, two interceptions, five fumble recoveries, and he has been credited with 19 passes defended.

Kristoff, a senior safety, got the honor after finishing 2013 with a career-high 72 tackles. He has appeared in every game of his three-year career so far, and calls being named a captain one of the coolest moments of his life.

“It’s a great honor," Kristoff said Wednesday. “When I came here, I was one of the lowest guys on the totem pole, one of the last players to sign. And to work my way up the ranks, and have that respect from my teammates is awesome.”

Ohio kicks off the 2014 season on the road at Kent State on August 30.