WOUB Students, Staff Help Produce Live Stream From Ohio Valley Emmy Award Ceremony

Posted on:

< < Back to

WOUB students and staff will help produce the live webstream from the Ohio Valley Emmy award ceremony Saturday night in Columbus. The ceremony will recognize professionals and student productions from 13 television markets in four states. 

WOUB News' Gabe Ross will host the Red Carpet broadcast along with Maria Durant. WOUB News student reporter Angela Reighard will join Ross and Abby Grisez for backstage winner interviews. 

WOUB students will be the technical crew for the broadcasts and include: Brett Maszczak, Thomas Tamesis, Kaitor Kposowa, Alyssa Pasicznyk, Ann Jacob, Rachel Bailey, Bianca Hillier and Kaitlyn Marshall.

Two WOUB Public Media employees, along with staff from three Ohio University departments have been nominated for Emmy awards. 

Evan Shaw, WOUB chief videographer/editor, and Grant Burkhardt, digital content editor, have been nominated in the Arts/Entertainment category for “Honey for the Heart,” a feature that follows a group of artists as they create giant puppets for a Halloween parade in Athens, Ohio. Shaw received a second nomination in the Photographer-program category for the feature.

Shaw, along with School of Communication Studies Professor Lynn Harter, have been nominated in the Arts/Entertainment category for “The Courage of Creativity,” an excerpt of a new documentary series that focuses on the power of art programming to help individuals and organizations.

The “Voice of the Bobcats” Russ Eisenstein has been nominated in the Sports category for his work with Ohio Athletics and David Urano, director of video and photography services, was nominated in the Commercial category for the Ohio University Communications and Marketing campaign “It’s Y{}u.”

Student productions Gridiron Glory and The Bobcat Sports Showcase will be recognized with student production awards. This will be the sixth overall student production award for Gridiron Glory, inlcuding recognition for three straight years.

WOUB student Emily Mueting will be recognized as the recipient of the David J. Clarke Memorial Scholarship worth $3,000. 

The broadcast begins at 5:30 p.m. and can be found at this link: http://ohiovalleyemmy.org/awards/2014-emmy-show-live/