Ohio Football: Four Bobcats Named To All-Confernce Teams

Posted on:

< < Back to

On Wednesday morning the Mid-American Conference released their postseason all-conference teams and awards, and although the Bobcats were shut out of first team honors, a few players still found their names on the list.

Daz Patterson (punt returner) was Ohio’s lone second team selection, while Lucas Powell (offensive line), Jovon Johnson (linebacker), and Tarell Basham (defensive end) were all selected to the third team all-conference.

Patterson, who began the season as Ohio’s primary running back, returned 15 punts this season for an average of 9.1 yards per return, the longest being a 26-yard return.

Powell anchored a rebuilt offensive line in 2014 that helped the Bobcats to an average of 164 rushing yards per game, which places them sixth in the MAC in that category.

Johnson, a redshirt junior, became a leader on Ohio’s defense this season, a unit that boasted the fifth-best total defense in the MAC, as well as the third-best run defense. He recorded 67 total tackles this season, the second most on the Bobcats, and also racked up 10.5 tackels-for-loss, 3.5 sacks, two interceptions and a fumble recovery.

Basham, who was a freshman All-American in 2013, cemented his spot as Ohio’s best pass rusher along the defensive line, recording 33 total tackles, five sacks, six tackles-for-loss, and five quarterback hurries.


2014 MAC Specialty Award Winners

Coach of the Year:  P.J. Fleck, Western Michigan

Freshman of the Year:  RB Jarvion Franklin, Western Michigan

Offensive Player of the Year:  RB Jarvion Franklin, Western Michigan

Defensive Player of the Year:  DB Quinten Rollins, Miami

Special Teams Player of the Year: K Scott Secor, Ball State

Vern Smith Leadership Award Winner:  OL Greg Mancz, Toledo


2014 All-MAC First Team Offense

Position – Name – School

Quarterback – Blake Frohnapfel, UMass

Offensive Linemen – Greg Mancz, Toledo @!

Offensive Linemen – Nick Beamish, Central Michigan

Offensive Linemen – Andy Phillips, Central Michigan @

Offensive Linemen – Andrew Ness, Northern Illinois

Offensive Lineman – Tyler Loos, Northern Illinois ^+

Tight End – Jean Sifrin, UMass

Wide Receiver – Tajae Sharpe, UMass

Wide Receiver – Titus Davis, Central Michigan ^+%

Wide Receiver – Corey Davis, Western Michigan @

Wide Receiver – Roger Lewis, Bowling Green

Running Back – Jarvion Franklin, Western Michigan

Running Back – Kareem Hunt, Toledo

Placekicker – Scott Secor, Ball State #


2014 All-MAC First Team Defense

Position – Name – School

Outside Linebacker – Jatavis Brown, Akron ^

Outside Linebacker – Junior Sylvestre, Toledo ^

Inside Linebacker – Justin Cherocci, Central Michigan #

Inside Linebacker – Jovan Santos-Knox, UMass 

Down Lineman – Jason Meehan, Northern Illinois

Down Lineman – Leterrius Walton, Central Michigan

Down Lineman – Pat O'Connor, Eastern Michigan

Down Lineman – Cody Grice, Akron

Defensive Back – Quinten Rollins, Miami

Defensive Back – Nate Holley, Kent State

Defensive Back – Donald Celiscar, Western Michigan #

Defensive Back – Paris Logan, Northern Illinois

Punter – Anthony Melchiori, Kent State @


2014 All-MAC First Team Specialists

Position – Name – School

Kickoff Return Specialist – Eric Patterson, Ball State

Punt Return Specialist -Ryan Burbrink, Bowling Green @


2014 All-MAC Second Team Offense

Position – Name – School

Quarterback – Zach Terrell, Western Michigan

Offensive Lineman – Alex Huettel, Bowling Green @

Offensive Lineman – Willie Beavers, Western Michigan

Offensive Lineman – Josh Hendershot, Toledo

Offensive Lineman – Jake Silas, Buffalo

Offensive Lineman – Jeff Myers, Toledo #

Tight End – Casey Pierce, Kent State

Wide Receiver – Da'Ron Brown, Northern Illinois @

Wide Receiver – David Frazier, Miami

Wide Receiver – Corey Jones, Toledo

Wide Receiver – Jordan Williams, Ball State #

Running Back – Anthone Taylor, Buffalo

Running Back – Thomas Rawls, Central Michigan

Placekicker – Jeremiah Detmer, Toledo ^!


2014 All-MAC Second Team Defense

Position – Name – School

Outside Linebacker – Gabe Martin, Bowling Green @&

Outside Linebacker – Adam Redden, Buffalo #

Inside Linebacker – Boomer Mays, Northern Illinois

Inside Linebacker – Great Ibe, Eastern Michigan

Down Lineman – Orion Jones, Toledo

Down Lineman – Treyvon Hester, Toledo #

Down Lineman – Nordly Capi, Akron

Down Lineman – Perez Ford, Northern Illinois

Defensive Back – Randall Jette, UMass

Defensive Back – Nick Johnson, Bowling Green

Defensive Back – Jordan Haden, Toledo

Defensive Back – Dechane Durante, Northern Illinois #

Punter – Zach Paul, Akron #


2014 All-MAC Second Team Specialists

Position – Name – School

Kickoff Return Specialist – Devin Campbell, Buffalo

Punt Return Specialist – Daz Patterson, Ohio


2014 All-MAC Third Team Offense

Position – Name – School

Quarterback – Andrew Hendrix, Miami

Offensive Lineman – James Kristof, Western Michigan

Offensive Lineman – Lucas Powell, Ohio

Offensive Lineman – Jake Richard, Ball State #

Offensive Lineman – Andre Davis, Buffalo

Offensive Lineman – Zach Lewis, Miami

Tight End – Tyreese Russell, Eastern Michigan @

Wide Receiver – Daniel Braverman, Western Michigan

Wide Receiver – Alonzo Russell, Toledo #!

Wide Receiver – Ron Willoughby, Buffalo

Wide Receiver – KeVonn Mabon, Ball State

Running Back – Cameron Stingily, Northern Illinois

Running Back – Jahwan Edwards, Ball State @!

Placekicker – Tyler Tate, Bowling Green


2014 All-MAC Third Team Defense

Position – Name – School

Outside Linebacker – Jovon Johnson, Ohio

Outside Linebacker – Rasheen Lemon, Northern Illinois

Inside Linebacker – Stanley Andre, UMass

Inside Linebacker – Lee Skinner, Buffalo

Down Lineman – Bryan Thomas, Bowling Green

Down Lineman – Tarrell Basham, Ohio

Down Lineman – Joe Ostman, Central Michigan

Down Lineman – Darnell Smith, Ball State

Defensive Back – Eric Patterson, Ball State

Defensive Back – Tony Annese, Central Michigan

Defensive Back – Ronald Zamort, Western Michigan

Defensive Back – Justin Currie, Western Michigan

Punter – J. Schroeder, Western Michigan


2014 All-MAC Third Team Specialists

Position – Name – School

Kickoff Return Specialist – Darius Phillips, Western Michigan

Punt Return Specialist – Fred McRae, Miami