Ohio football armlock sway

Football Announces Team Captains

Posted on:

< < Back to

With a new season comes a new group of leaders for the Ohio Bobcats football team.

On Tuesday morning, the team named Derrius Vick, Nate Carpenter, Jovon Johnson, Casey Sayles and Lucas Powell its captains for the 2015 season. Vick and Carpenter returning captains from last year’s team, which finished 6-6 and missed out on making a bowl game for the first time in five years.

As the returning quarterback and captain, Vick will be looked on to not only lead his team through his own play but also stepping up as a vocal leader.

“I was the only junior captain last year so sometimes I felt maybe I should let the older guys kind of step up and bark if they needed to bark,” Vick said. “This year I’ll try to be a little bit more vocal, more hands on and just continue to watch my actions knowing that people are always watching.”

Carpenter was also a senior captain last year in a season that was cut short due to injury. He was awared another year of eligibilty.

Joining Vick as another offensive captain is senior lineman Lucas Powell. Last year Ohio didn’t have a single senior on the line, but in 2015 the ‘Cats will be returning seven lineman who benefitted from playing in at least eight games last year.

This includes Powell who started in 11 of the 12 games he played in for the Bobcats last season.

On the defensive side of the ball, linebacker Johnson and junior defensive lineman Sayles will be representing the team.

Johnson finished second on the team in total tackles last year with 67 and also had a team-high 10.5 tackles for a loss. Johnson forced also a fumble, recovered a fumble and tied in second with two interceptions.

At the fiftth captaincy spot is Sayles, the only junior captain on this year’s team. Sayles is coming off a season in which he didn’t lead the team in any defensive category but played in all 12 games.

The five captains will don their new captain patchers for the first time on April 4 in its Green and White scrimmage at 2 p.m.