Photo Cred: Karli Bell

Former Bobcat Now Head of College Football Playoff Committee

Posted on:

< < Back to

Former Ohio Athletic Director Kirby Hocutt is now the head of the College Football Playoff Committee. Hocutt replaces Jeff Long as the second head of playoff committee after Long rotated out of positon.

Members of the committee serve in a rotation that can last for varying lengths. Hocutt’s term is set to end in February of 2017. However, members terms may be extended for a final year if they are serving as the committee chair.

The former Ohio athletic director started with the ‘Cats in 2005 before moving onto the same position at Miami University (FL) in February of 2008. During his three-year tenure with the Bobcats, Hocutt helped bring together 11 team championships. Plus, in 2005, Ohio football played in its first bowl game in 38 years.

Hocutt is also known for trimming Ohio Atheltics down to 16 programs when he phased out men’s swimming & diving, mens indoor & outdoor track, and women’s lacrosse in January 2007.

The Sherman, Texas native took over as athletic director with Texas Tech in 2011. The Kansas State graduate was formerly the Big-12 Conference’s representative for the College Football Playoff committee. He is in his fifth year as Texas Tech’s athletic director.