WOUB Students Win Major Regional Student Production Awards

Posted on:

< < Back to

For the ninth time since its inception, Gridiron Glory, a student production at WOUB Public Media, won a major Student Production Award in Sports from the Ohio Valley division of the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

The win was for Gridiron Glory Episode 12 produced by Rachel Cherry and Matt Cudahy. John Noble was the director; Dani Dean was the host.

Others involved were Chase Worcester, assistant director; Griffin Ratcliffe, social media coordinator; Erik Threet, online host; and Michael Rodriguez, advisor.

The 19th season of Gridiron Glory begins Friday, August 18 at 11:30 p.m. on WOUB-TV. Gridiron Glory Media Day is Sunday, August 20, 11:30 a.m.-4:00 p.m.

In addition, WOUB students received two Honorable Mentions:

Short Form Non-Fiction
Austin’s Army (Gridiron Glory), Ohio University
Erik Threet, producer; Michael Rodriguez, advisor.

Sports Program
Hardwood Heroes Episode 6, Ohio University
Josh Gregory, producer; Griffin Ratcliffe, producer; Erik Threet, host; Blake Baker, online host; Tyler Wend, director; Alex Moore, assistant director; Alex Harrison, social media producer; Matt Summers, social media producer; Michael Rodriguez, advisor.

Student Jake Hromada, who broadcasts play-by-play of Ohio Women’s basketball on WOUB, also won a Student Production Award for “Composite-Talent.”