Kentucky Senate GOP Caucus Elects New Chairwoman

Posted on:

< < Back to

FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) – The Kentucky Senate Republican Caucus has elected Julie Raque Adams as its new chairwoman.

Adams defeated fellow Louisville Sen. Dan Seum in an election on Friday. Senators voted by secret ballot in a closed meeting. GOP leaders did not release the vote totals.

The GOP caucus also nominated without opposition Robert Stivers of Manchester as Senate president and David Givens of Greensburg as president pro tempore. The full Senate will vote on their nominations in January. Stivers has been Senate president since 2013. Givens had been president pro tempore before stepping down in 2017 for personal reasons.

Damon Thayer of Georgetown will return as majority floor leader and Mike Wilson of Bowling Green will return as majority whip.

Republicans will have 28 of the 38 Senate seats in January.