Students win college student production award for Hardwood Heroes

Posted on:

< < Back to

The recipients were announced Sunday, September 17

ATHENS, OH – A group of seven current WOUB students won an Ohio Valley Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences 2023 College Student Production Award for Hardwood Heroes (Season 13, Episode 6) in the Sports Story/Segment, Sports Program, or live Sporting Event Category. Adam Schlosser, Parker Kopronica, Aidan Cagna, Audrey Paquette, Hailey Hollinger, Bryce Tinson and Conor Mallonn were announced as the winners during a virtual ceremony on Sunday, September 17.

Twenty current and former WOUB students were nominated for awards in three different categories. Dylan Theisen, Jacob Motta, Max Brunke, Adam Schlosser, Chloe Gee and Jack Demmler were also nominated in the Sports Story/Segment, Sports Program, or live Sporting Event Category for Gridiron Glory (Season 23 Episode 7). Demmler was nominated individually in the Talent News or Sports category for his sports reel.

Claire Schiopota, Matthew Gebhart, Lexi Lepof, Andre Norrils, Jack Demmler, Emma Dollenmayer, Taylor Mondragon, Silver Barker, Dylan Theisen and Jacob Motta were nominated in the Newscast or News Report category for NewsWatch Special Report: The Future of Higher Education in Southeast Ohio.

“Congratulations to all of the students who were nominated and to the students who won for Hardwood Heroes. It’s such an honor,” said WOUB Editor-in-Chief Atish Baidya. “We are very proud of the work our students produce to serve the 55-county, three-state region WOUB covers. To be recognized in this way is a testament to the time and effort students at WOUB dedicate to doing the very best they can for the people in our region.”

Hardwood Heroes is a weekly half-hour high school basketball program that airs on WOUB TV. The program covers boys and girls teams in the Tri-Valley Conference (TVC) with in-depth multi-media coverage each week.