New Hocking Trustees To Be Selected Tonight

Posted on:

< < Back to

A caucus of school board presidents in Hocking, Athens and Perry Counties will choose two new board of trustees members at a meeting tonight.

The new positions became available after two resignations of previous board members.

The meeting will start off in regular session then transition to an executive session discussing the potential board candidates.

Hocking College Spokeswoman Laura Alloway says there are eight applicants to choose from and the decision will come after detailed review.

"We received eight applicants for those positions. Those applicants were requested to submit a questionaire which has been reviewed by the school board president and then they determine which candidates they would like to put on the board," says Alloway.

The candidates are State of Ohio Office of IT Executive Program Manager Darlene Wells, Hocking College Instructor Keith Butt, Attorney Garry Hunter, Retired Xerox Senior Customer Service Engineer Donald Ice, Ed Map CEO and Founder Michael Mark, Athens Director of Public Works Andy Stone, Athens Insurance Services President Andrew Vogt and PDQ Carryout Manager David Vogt.

The two former trustees, Pat Light and Tonya Sherburne, resigned after the board re-instated Ron Erickson as president.

Erickson was fired by the board over the summer.

The meeting will take place at 6 p.m. tonight.