Men’s Basketball: Three Bobcats Earn All-MAC Awards

Posted on:

< < Back to

The Mid-American Conference announced its Men's All-MAC teams Wednesday; three Ohio Bobcats made the lists.

Dj Cooper was the lone guard on the All-MAC First Team list. Mitchell Watt, the MAC Player of the Year, and Javon McCrea from Buffalo were named to the First Team. Kent State's Justin Greene and Miami's Julian Mavunga rounded out the selections. All five players on the All-MAC First Team were from the East Division.

This is the second consecutive season that Cooper and Greene have been named to the first team.

Dj was the seventh best scorer int he conference during the regular season averaging 14.1 points-per-game. He also dished out the most assists in the MAC on his way to becoming the Ohio all-time assists leader with 173 dimes on the season and led in steals with 75 swipes or 2.4 steals-per-game.

Walter Offutt and Ivo Baltic were the other two Bobcats award postseason honors. They were named to the All-MAC Honorable Mention Team.Offutt was 13th in the conference in scoring with 13.1 points-per-game; Baltic finished the regular season in the top 20 in rebounding and field goal percentage.

The Men's MAC Tournament Second Round action continues tonight at Quicken Loans Arena. No. 12 Northern Illinois takes on No. 8 Western Michigan at 7 p.m. Then at 9:30 p.m., No. 11 Central Michigan takes on No. 7 Toledo at 9:30 p.m. Both games will be televised on SportsTime Ohio.

Ohio plays the winner of CMU/Toledo on Thursday at 9:30 p.m.


All-MAC First Team
Mitchell Watt, Buffalo
Javon McCrea, Buffalo
Justin Greene, Kent State
Julian Mavunga, Miami
D.J. Cooper, Ohio

All-MAC Second Team 
Zeke Marshall, Akron
Alex Abreu, Akron
Jarrod Jones, Ball State
A'uston Calhoun, Bowling Green
Rian Pearson, Toledo

All-MAC Third Team 
Nikola Cvetinovic, Akron
Scott Thomas, Bowling Green
Trey Zeigler, Central Michigan
Darrell Lampley, Eastern Michigan
Michael Porrini, Kent State

Honorable Mention
Randal Holt, Kent State
Carlton Guyton, Kent State
Ivo Baltic, Ohio
Walter Offutt, Ohio
Curtis Dennis, Toledo
Flenard Whitfield, Western Michigan

All-Freshman Team
Aaron Adeoye, Ball State
Austin McBroom, Central Michigan
Brian Sullivan, Miami
Abdel Nader, Northern Illinois
Julius Brown, Toledo