Wade Jarrell Named 2012 Gridiron Glory Player of the Year

Posted on:

< < Back to

The fans have spoken and after receiving nearly 1,600 votes, Gallia Academy quarterback Wade Jarrell has been named the 2012 Gridiron Glory Player of the Year.

The gunslinger led the Blue Devils to the regional semifinals, beating defenses both on the ground and through the air. He first made waves during Week 1 when he led Gallia to a victory on the road over the TVC-Ohio champion Athens Bulldogs. He then took the Blue Devils on a wild ride through the SEOAL slate, resulting in a league championship and playoff birth.

His final stats for the season total 1,225 passing yards and 12 throwing touchdowns to go with 995 rushing yards and 13 touchdowns on the ground.

The junior will return next season to try and lead the Blue Devils to another league title and a deeper run in the OHSAA Playoffs. 

Congratulations to him and the other Player of the Year candidates Blake Atkins, Joey Burrow, Austin Jones and Konner Standley on an incredible 2012 season.