Six Bobcats Earn MAC Football Postseason Awards

Posted on:

< < Back to

The Mid-American Conference released its All-Conference roster and named postseason award winners Wednesday, and six Bobcats found their names on the list.

Junior running back Beau Blankenship and senior kicker Matt Weller were each named to the All-MAC Second Team Offense.

Blankenship set the Ohio all-time record in 2012 for rushing yards in a season with 1,500, which was also the second most rushing yards by a running back in the MAC this season. Blankenship also scored 12 touchdowns this season, good for seventh in the MAC.

Weller also set a school record this season, becoming Ohio’s all-time scoring leader on Sep. 8 against New Mexico State. With 400 career points and 12 career MAC Player of the Week awards, Weller solidified his position as one of the best placekickers ever to wear the green and white.

Senior offensive linemen Skyler Allen and Eric Herman were also named to the All-MAC Second Team Offense.

The Bobcats also saw two players on the defensive side of the football earn All-MAC honors, with senior linebacker Alphonso Lewis and senior defensive tackle Neal Huynh named to the All-MAC Third Team Defense.

The most notable Bobcat left off of the All-MAC roster is redshirt-junior quarterback Tyler Tettleton, who was a part of the Third-Team Offense in 2011.