State Legislators Representing SE Ohio Take Oath Of Office

Posted on:

< < Back to

Three state legislators representing Southeast Ohio took the oath of office Tuesday.

Republican Tim Schaffer released a statement after taking the oath of office Monday as state senator for the 31st district, which encompasses Coshocton, Licking, Perry and Tuscarawas counties as well as portions of Holmes County. 

“Many of my legislative initiatives are inspired by my constituents, and I look forward to hearing their ideas on how we can improve our state and get more Ohioans working again,” said Schaffer. 

State Representative Andy Thompson also was sworn in Tuesday and he, too, released a statement.

“I will work earnestly to serve the citizens of the 95th House District and thank them for their faith in me,” says Thompson. 

Thompson is a Republican from Marietta and he represents Carroll, Harrison and Noble counties, as well as portions of Belmont and Washington counties.

And State Representative Ryan Smith also officially became a member of the Ohio House for the 130th General Assembly.

Smith represents the 93rd Ohio House District, which includes Gallia and Jackson counties, as well as portions of Lawrence and Vinton counties.

He is a Republican from Bidwell and issued this statement: “I will continue to work tirelessly to give southeastern Ohio a voice in Columbus and continue to move Ohio in the right direction.”