Otterbein Bests Marietta Again, Wins 10-8

Posted on:

< < Back to

The Marietta College Pioneers exited the Ohio Athletic Conference Tournament Saturday, losing 10-8 to the Otterbein University Cardinals. The tournament finish was disappointing for Marietta, who entered as the No. 1 seed and hosted the tournament at its own Don Schaly Stadium.

Mike Finlan started the game for the Pioneers and earned the loss. He only lasted two innings and gave up six hits and six runs, five of them earned.

The Etta Express offensive train came to a screeching halt after the first inning, but Otterbein kept pounding home runs. The Cardinals scored eight runs in four innings to take a commanding 8-2 lead.

The Pioneers made an effort in the fifth to climb back into the game. Chris Winpigler launched a two-run home run to left center, but the scoring fizzled there. Marietta’s leading hitter, Alex Toth, flied out to center the following at-bat.

Toth played as the designated hitter while Winpigler relieved him of his duties behind the plate. Toth, who finished the regular season batting .431, caught Marietta’s first game of the day against John Carroll. He finished Saturday’s game against Otterbein going just 1-5 at the dish.

Otterbein rendered Marietta’s two-run spurt useless by plating a pair of runs in the sixth, bringing the score to 10-4.

But the fight never escaped the Pioneers. After loading the bases, Winpigler continued his tear with a two-RBI single. The sophomore catcher led Marietta with two home runs and six RBIs. Toth followed with a single of his own to load the bases.

After two more runs came in for Marietta, the score stood at 10-8 in favor of Otterbein.

Marietta threatened once more in the eighth, loading the bases for Toth. The senior catcher struck out swinging to end the inning.

The Pioneers’ final chance in the ninth was short-lived. Two strikeouts and a fly-out to right ended Marietta’s OAC Tournament run.

Marietta finished the season 29-12 with a disappointing 1-2 OAC Tournament record. The top-seeded Pioneers missed out on their third consecutive OAC Championship.