WOUB, OU’s School Of Media Arts And Studies Recognized By NATAS’ Ohio Valley Chapter

Posted on:

< < Back to


The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences’ Ohio Valley Chapter has recognized WOUB’s “Gridiron Glory” and Ohio University’s School of Media Arts and Studies’ student film “Made in Donegal” with student production awards. 

The NATAS Ohio Valley Chapter presents Emmy® awards to television professionals in thirteen markets in Indiana, Kentucky, Ohio and West Virginia.

“Gridiron Glory” covers high school football in southeast Ohio and western West Virginia and features game highlights, reporter analysis, fan of the week and interviews with players and coaches. Students recognized by the Ohio Valley Chapter include: Rachel Thompson, director; Jaush Huntsberger, host and Glenn Janos, producer. “Gridiron Glory” has received five student production awards during its 14 seasons and will return for its 15th season in August.

In the summer of 2012, students in Ohio University’s School of Media Arts and Studies studied in Donegal, Ireland, and produced “Made in Donegal,” a documentary about the local food culture. It focuses on local producers, buyers and advocates for the rebuilding of a sustainable local food model.

The documentary was written, shot and produced by six Ohio University students: Alex Bolinger, Joey Buccini, Kelly Matousek, Matt Monachino, Amanda Olszewski and Sonya Paclob. Original music for the documentary is by Jeremy Howard and Steven Ostroske. 

The Ohio Valley Chapter honored several WOUB productions with honorable mentions. Recognized in the news/sports categories were "Newswatch," WOUB’s nightly news program, students Rachel Thompson, director; Amanda Walters, producer; Emily Evans, anchor and Michael Locklear, anchor were recognized as part of the production; and The Bobcat Sports Showcase, which features Ohio University varsity sports, with Kaylee Donegan recognized as producer of the show.

Christa Lamendola’s feature story “The Goose Girl” was recognized with an honorable mention under the Program and Spot Announcement category. The feature appeared during a broadcast from Ohio University's Research and Creative Expo this spring.  

“Congratulations to those who have been honored with a regional Student Production Award,” said Gary Anaple, Student Awards chairman for the Ohio Valley Chapter. “Some of the most talented media students nationwide are right in our own backyard. We’re proud to have the opportunity to encourage and mentor these dynamic students.”

The awards will be presented during the chapter’s annual Emmy® Awards Gala, July 20, 2013 at the Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza.