Region Under A Flash Flood Watch

Posted on:

< < Back to

The National Weather Service has issued a flash flood watch for Southeast Ohio, Northeast Kentucky and West Virginia beginning at 6 p.m. Wednesday through 11 a.m. on Thursday.

The watch effects Athens, Gallia, Jackson, Lawrence, Morgan, Meigs, Perry, Vinton and Washington counties in Ohio along with Boyd, Carter, Greenup and Lawrence counties in Kentucky. There are also 34 counties in West Virginia under the same watch.

“A series of upper level disturbances, along with abundant moisture, will be capable of producing strong thunderstorms this afternoon through Thursday,” according the National Weather Service.

“Periods of very heavy rainfall and repetitive rain over the same areas could produce small streams and creeks to become out of their banks,” the weather service noted. “In addition, flooding of streets, low lying and poor drainage areas could occur.”

The National Weather Service cautions that a Flash Flood Watch means that conditions may develop to lead to flash flooding… “a very dangerous situation.”

WOUB will provide updates as they become available.