Tettleton Named to O’Brien Watch List

Posted on:

< < Back to

For the second consecutive season, Ohio Bobcats quarterback Tyler Tettleton was named to the Davey O’Brien preseason watch list. The O’Brien Award recognizes college football’s most outstanding quarterback in the country.

Tettleton joins 33 other quarterbacks on the list, headlined by field generals such as Clemson's Tajh Boyd, Ohio State's Braxton Miller, Alabama's A.J. McCarron and last year's winner, Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel.

Ohio’s senior quarterback is coming off a season in which he completed 228 passes for 2,844 yards and 18 touchdowns, leading the Bobcats to a 9-4 record on the year. Tettleton, who will be a captain for the second-straight season in 2013, enters the year owning 23 Ohio University Football records.

Tettleton broke onto the scene as a true freshman, compiling 158 all-purpose yards as a change-of-pace option at quarterback. He redshirted in 2010 before being named a starter in Frank Solich’s new pass-heavy spread offense. Over his career at Ohio, Tettleton has thrown for 6,278 yards and 46 touchdowns.

Tettleton joins fellow Mid-American Conference gunslingers Keith Wenning (Ball State) and Jordan Lynch (Northern Illinois) on the award Watch List.

While the Watch List includes the names of the nation's premier quarterbacks heading into the season, quarterbacks from all 125 NCAA Division-I FBS schools are eligible for the award until 16 semifinalists are announced on Nov. 4. Three finalists will be named Nov. 25, with the winner being anounced on Dec. 12 as part of the annual Home Depot College Football Awards presentation.

Tettleton and the ‘Cats will face off with another O’Brien watch list honoree, Teddy Bridgewater, as they kick off their season Sept. 1 at Louisville on ESPN.