Rio Grande Announces 2013 Hall Of Fame Class

Posted on:

< < Back to

The University of Rio Grande announced four new inductees into their Athletic Hall of Fame today, according to the The 2013 class will consist of Bernie Bickerstaff, Steven Kehoe, Jenny Olding and Matt Powell, which will be inducted on Nov. 16 as part of the university’s homecoming ceremonies.

Bickerstaff played basketball throughout his time at Rio Grande, starting as point guard and averaging 13 points per game before he left the school to finish his education at the University of San Diego. He went on to work in the front offices of numerous NBA franchises and was head coach five teams: the Seattle Supersonics (1985-90), Denver Nuggets (1994-96), Washington Bullets (1997-99), Charlotte Bobcats (2004-07) and Los Angeles Lakers (2012-13). Bickerstaff is currently an assistant coach with the Cleveland Cavaliers.

Kehoe was a three-time NAIA All-American and was named the Most Valuable Player of the 2003 NAIA men’s soccer tournament, where he led the school to a national title. He spent one season with the Pittsburgh Riverhounds of the United Soccer League before returning to the university’s soccer program as an assistant coach. He is currently a professor of sports medicine and exercise physiology at Bangor University in Wales.

Olding was a star for the Rio Grande softball team, starting 186 games and finishing with a .419 career batting average. As a freshman, she was a second team All-America Mideast Conference pick, and went on to be selected as a first team pick each of the next three years. Olding was also an All-America Mideast Conference Scholar Athlete in her junior and senior years. She currently works as a lifestyle change strategist in Tampa, Fla.

Powell was a standout on the men’s basketball team, graduating with two All-District honors and the second most points (2,367) in school history. He currently serves as vice president and chief commercial officer of the Ormet Aluminum Corporation.

The induction banquet will begin at 6:30 p.m., with the formal program expected to commence at 7 p.m. on Nov. 16.