Choices Slim On Pickaway County Ballot

Posted on:

< < Back to

Plenty of elected offices are up for grabs in Pickaway County Nov. 5, but many of the races have either no competition or no candidates at all.

In Circleville, eight elected officials are seeking re-election to their offices completely unopposed, including Gary Dumm, municipal court judge; David Crawford, city council president; Dorcas Morrow, council at-large; Tom Spring, council at-large; Michael Logan, first ward council; Barry Keller, second ward council; Todd Brady, third ward council; and Sister Monica Justinger, fourth ward council.

Current council member Tito Duran has chosen not to seek re-election, leaving the seat open for Tammy L. Bowers, who is running unopposed for his at-large seat.

And though the position of city treasurer was originally a two-person contest, one of those candidates — Angela R. Hixon — has since dropped out of the race, leaving write-in candidate Brent F. Bowers running unopposed to fill the seat vacated by Dianne Good, who chose not to seek re-election.

Politics in the outlying villages are a study in contrast, ranging from the most highly contested race in the county to races without enough candidates to fill available seats.

In Commercial Point, eight candidates are vying for election to four available seats on village council. Current council members Nicole D. Evans, Kimberly Gooden Kinney and Jason Thompson are looking for re-election, running against challengers Mark A. Geiger, Bradley R. Laxton, Scott O’Neil, Kevin J. Ryan and David G. Sadler.

Nearby Ashville has just one challenger to four current council members seeking re-election, making a total of five candidates for four available seats. Newcomer Todd Henson is challenging Tracie Sorvillo, Keith Moore, Jim Mathers and Glenn Cook.
Williamsport will break even this year, with Adam J. Miller, Cindy K. Miller, Ken Ward and Beverly Whitten running unopposed to fill its village council.

In South Bloomfield, however, only three of four current council members up for re-election have chosen to pursue their office again, while Robert J. Schroeder will not, leaving one unfilled council seat following the November election. The village also only has one candidate for two available seats on its Board of Public Affairs.

In New Holland, the figures are even more dismal, with only Danny Kirkpatrick running to retain his council seat. The other three available seats have no candidates filed for the ballot.

The villages of Darbyville and Tarlton have no candidates at all filed for the election this year. That will leave four open seats on each village council when the current terms expire at the end of the year.

None of the seats for Pickaway County boards of election have opposition this year, with Christine Williams running to retain her seat and Patricia J. Rothe running unopposed to fill the seat vacated by Daniel Bradhurst at Circleville; Michael Agosta, Michael Linton and Deborah Shaw running for three available seats at Logan Elm; Kevin Archer and Charles D. Morrison running for two available seats at Teays Valley; and Larry Carfrey and Kristen Earich running for two available seats at Westfall.

Of 15 townships in Pickaway County, more than half will retain candidates who are running unopposed, including Darby, Harrison, Jackson, Madison, Perry, Pickaway, Scioto and Wayne.

Contested races include Circleville Township, with current trustees Ernest Enoch and Ernest G. Martin trying to retain their seats against challenger Bob Kuhlwein.

In Deercreek Township, incumbents C. Randall Metzger and Wayne Wright are running against challengers John Cook and Barry Sowers.

In Monroe Township, incumbents Gary L. Moore and Ted Rogers will try to retain their seats against challenger Jamie E. McCoy.

In Muhlenberg Township, R. Stan Summers, Jeff Wippel and Lee Yarsky are vying for two available seats.

In Saltcreek Township, incumbents Jim Fox and Rose Minor will attempt to retain their seats against challengers David M. Conrad and Dale Valentine.

In Walnut Township, voters will decide between incumbents Warren Spangler and William Winter are challenged by Darryl Ward and Wilson Ett for two available seats.

And in Washington Township, James R. Ewing and James M. Lands will try to retain their seats against challenger Jeanine Leist McDowell.