Rio Grande Men’s Soccer Cleans Up Conference Awards

Posted on:

< < Back to

The men’s soccer program at Rio Grande earned honors galore on Wednesday, as the Mid-South Conference announced its awards for the season..

The RedStorm placed nine players on the Academic All-MSC team. The following players made the team: Nikoy Wallace, Jordan Jenkins, Jon Dodson, Cesar Lopez, Luiz Filho, Romain Terzian, Ludovic Delapeyre, Hristian Lenkov and Edward Mussi.

In order to be nominated to earn such honors, the players had to have at least a 3.25 GPA on a 4.0 scale. Rio led the MSC in number of players to earn the honor.

As good as the RedStorm are in the classroom, they are known to be just as good on the pitch. Six players earned First Team All-Conference honors. The players included:  Dodson, Filho, Ryota Tonegawa, Lopez, Maximilliano Viera and Pau Rodriguez.

Craig Davies and Romain Terzian earned second team honors.

Pau Rodriguez earned Freshman of the Year honors for Rio, and head coach Scott Morrissey took home the Coach of the Year award for the second consecutive season.

The RedStorm maintain a record of 14-2-2 and 7-0-2 in the MSC. They take on Cumberland for the conference tournament championship Friday evening at 8:30 p.m.