Tettleton and Carrie Accept Invitations to Medal of Honor Bowl

Posted on:

< < Back to

Seniors quarterback Tyler Tettleton and cornerback Travis Carrie accepted invitations to play in the inaugural Medal of Honor Bowl, a game featuring senior football players from various Division I and Division II programs.

The Bobcat seniors are two of 92 total players to participate in the game. The 92 players will be divided into two teams of 46 called the National Team and the American Team. Former Dallas Cowboys and Buffalo Bills head coach Chan Gailey will coach the National Team while former San Diego Chargers assistant Ralph Friedgen will coach the American Team.

Tettleton joins quarterback Casey Pachall from Texas Christian University, a quarterback projected to be selected in the 2014 NFL Draft and Catawba quarterback Danny O’Brien, a senior that has played for the Maryland Terrapins and Wisconsin Badgers in his career before ending at Catawba.

Carrie is the only Division I cornerback selected by the Medal of Honor Bowl, but fellow Mid-American Conference player Roosevelt Nix of Kent State also received an invitation to play linebacker in the bowl.

The Medal of Honor Bowl will be played on Jan. 11 at The Citadel’s Johnson Hagood Stadium in Charleston, SC.