Three Bobcats Receive CSCHL Honors

Posted on:

< < Back to

Before Ohio hockey began its quest for the ultimate team accomplishment at the ACHA National Tournament later this week, individual awards were in order for two Bobcats as well as their bench boss Monday afternoon.

Ohio freshman Patrick Spellacy was named the CSCHL Rookie of the Year, sophomore Garrett Williams received the CSCHL Sportsmanship Award, and head coach Jonathon Sheridan won Coach of the Year in his first season behind the Bobcats’ bench.

Spellacy led the team with 22 goals in his first season with the Green and White, and his 43 points were the highest of any rookie in the league.

Spellacy also led the entire CSCHL with six game-winning goals.

While Williams experienced a balanced offensive season with 12 goals and 12 assists, he earned his sportsmanship accolades for recording only two penalty minutes in 34 games this season.

Williams went 25 games before taking his first and only penalty of the season on January 25 in a game at home against Illinois.

Rookie head coach Sheridan took over Ohio after Dan Morris decided to step down from the position after 12 seasons.

Sheridan’s team went on to win 29 games, earn 87 points and the league’s best goal differential, +96. Sheridan’s Bobcats’ season earned them the No. 7 seed for the national tournament, and they made it all the way to the CSCHL Championship before falling to Robert Morris 3-2 in overtime.