Nine W. Va Counties Now Under State of Emergency Over Flooding

Posted on:

< < Back to

CHARLESTON, W.Va. (AP) – Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin has added six counties to a group of three already under a state of emergency after severe flooding.

Tomblin added Clay, Lincoln, Logan, Nicholas, Putnam and Roane counties to the state of emergency Tuesday. He signed a declaration Monday for Braxton, Webster and Wood counties.

The state of emergency seeks to address the rockslides, mudslides, severe flooding and property damage that resulted from heavy rain Sunday and Monday.

State agencies have workers in the three counties assessing damages.

With additional storms expected, 29 counties remain under a state of preparedness.

The state of emergency can trigger federal assistance if certain thresholds are met. It also doesn’t provide for direct individual assistance.

The state of preparedness allows advance preparation before predicted severe weather or large-scale threats.