West Virginia Flooding

5 West Virginia Counties Stay Under Flood State Of Emergency

Posted on:

< < Back to

CHARLESTON, W.Va. (AP) – Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin is extending a state of emergency for five West Virginia counties devastated by floods in June.

Tomblin announced the extension until Oct. 21 for Clay, Greenbrier, Kanawha, Nicholas and Webster counties to ensure that state resources are provided to rebuild homes, businesses and communities. That includes demolition and stream cleanup efforts.

The declaration was scheduled to expire Wednesday, three months after floods killed 23 people and destroyed homes, businesses and infrastructure.

An emergency declaration expired Wednesday evening for Fayette, Roane and Summers counties.

At one point, 44 of West Virginia’s 55 counties were under a state of emergency.