Photo Cred: Ohio Athletics

Three Bobcats Earn Conference Honors

Posted on:

< < Back to

The Mid-American Conference announced its All-MAC selections Monday and three Ohio Bobcats made the cut.

Jaaron Simmons was named All-MAC First Team, Jordan Dartis was named All-MAC Honorable Mention and Jason Carter was placed on the MAC All-Freshman Team.

Ever since Antonio Campbell went down, Simmons has unquestionably been Ohio’s leader and has filled the big man’s shoes. Simmons leads Ohio with 443 points on the year, good for 15.3 a game.
Simmons is one of three Bobcats to start every game this season. His play has made waves outside of the MAC too. His 6.7 assists per game puts him sixth in the entire NCAA. Simmons set a career high with 38 points in the Convocation Center in Ohio’s 85-70 win over Akron.

Simmons was an All-MAC Second Team selection last season.

Dartis, a sophomore, can fly under the radar for some, but Ohio and the rest of the MAC knows how dangerous he can be.

Dartis is third on the team averaging 13.2 points per game behind Simmons and Campbell who played only 14 games this season.

Behind the arc is Dartis’ home and he can be deadly. He is shooting 86-188 behind the arc, good for an incredible 45.7 percent.

Dartis was named to the MAC All-Freshman Team last season.

Named to the All-Freshman team this season was Jason Carter.

While Simmons may have taken the role of Ohio’s leader and best player when Campbell went down, he is not a big man. The 6’8” freshman Carter is a big man.

Ask anyone in the Ohio locker room and they will tell you Carter is a future MAC Player of the Year.

Carter has played in every game this year, but only started 13 of them. Carter shot 51 percent from the field and averaged 6.4 rebounds per game. His statistics may be impressive, but even better was his transition as the big man, letting Ohio fans know everything would be alright post-Campbell.

The Bobcats continue their season in the MAC Tournament on Thursday. Ohio earned the second seed and a first-round bye. Ohio will see the winner of Bowling Green and Toledo in the second round.