FEMA Offers Disaster Relief For February Damage

Posted on:

< < Back to

Thanks to a major disaster declaration signed in April, most of the counties in Southeast Ohio are eligible for disaster relief funds for weather-related damages sustained in February.

According to a press release from the Federal Emergency Management Agency eligible applicants can get reimbursed for repairing and/or replacing facilities damaged by severe storms, mudslides, flooding, and straight-line winds occurring between February 14 and February 25, 2018.

A street light stands submerged in the Ohio River outside Pomeroy, Ohio. February 25, 2018. (Daniel Linhart/WOUB)

The following counties have been designated adversely affected by the disaster and eligible for Public Assistance: Adams, Athens, Belmont, Brown, Columbiana, Gallia, Hamilton, Jackson, Lawrence, Meigs, Monroe, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Pike, Scioto, Vinton, and Washington. On May 24, 2018, the declaration was amended to add Public Assistance designation to Coshocton, Harrison, Jefferson, and Morgan Counties. Additional counties may be designated at a later date.

FEMA’s public notice is focused on activities that may affect historic properties, or are in wetland areas, 100-year or 500 year floodplains.

In some cases, instead of rebuilding in the same area – FEMA will want activities moved out of the flood plain, altogether.