Gallia County Primary 2020 Results For Contested Races

Posted on:

< < Back to

GALLIA COUNTY, Ohio (WOUB) —  By the close of Ohio’s virus-extended Primary Election Night, 5,821 votes were cast in Gallia County. The two county commissioner seats and the sheriff’s race were contested for Republican voters.

For the commissioner term that begins January 2, 2021, Q. Jay Stapleton defeated Brent Saunders 2,630 to 1,888. Stapleton will face the Democrat Scott Williamson in November.

Republican M. Eugene Green beat David Smith 2,202 votes to 2,144 and will face Democrat Randall Adkins in the fall for the county commissioner term that begins on January 3.

Sheriff Matthew Champlin’s 3,317 votes beat his challenger Richard Harrison’s 1,143 votes. The sheriff will run against Democrat Jimmy Spears in November.

Of the issues that were decided:

The Gallia County Senior Services Levy passed with 80% of the vote. The county’s Board of  Health Levy also passed, as did the fire protection levy in Huntington Township and Rio Grande’s electric aggregation measure.

You can look at the complete list of Gallia County’s results here: Gallia County Board of Elections

And you can get results from other counties in our region here: WOUB Election Results