State Sponsoring 15 Mass Vaccination Clinics

Posted on:

< < Back to

CLEVELAND, Ohio (WCPN) — More options will soon be available to eligible people in our region seeking a COVID-19 vaccine.

Gov. Mike DeWine announced Friday at a press conference in Cleveland that 15 state-sponsored mass vaccination clinics across the state will soon open.

The clinics will be located in Lima, Maumee, Dayton, Columbus, Akron, Youngstown, Cincinnati, Chillicothe, Marietta, Wilmington, and Zanesville. Four mobile mass vaccination clinics will also make rounds: based out of Ada to serve areas of northwestern and west-central Ohio; Athens for southeastern Ohio; Mansfield for north-central Ohio; and Steubenville for east-central Ohio.

A list of state-sponsored vaccine clinics
A list of state-sponsored vaccine clinics. [Office of Gov. Mike DeWine]
The state also will host two temporary pop-up vaccination sites in Columbus and Cincinnati March 19, DeWine said.

“Now that the supply of vaccine is significantly increasing, this is the perfect time for a large-scale clinic in Ohio to bolster our work to get shots in arms quickly, efficiently, and equitably,” DeWine said in the press release.

The state-run sites will have the capacity to administer 300 to 3,000 vaccines per day, depending on the location, he explained Friday.

Anyone who qualifies under the state’s eligibility requirements – which currently includes individuals over 60 and people with certain high-risk medical conditions – can sign up for the clinics, but high-risk and underserved populations will be prioritized, according to the release.

Ohioans will be required to register to get their vaccines at the new mass vaccination clinics. Information on how to do that will be coming soon.