Swimming/Diving: Four Divers To Compete At NCAA Zones

Posted on:

< < Back to

Four Ohio University divers will compete in Bloomington, Ind. Thursday and Friday at the NCAA Zone C Diving Championships.

Bobcats Haleigh Bartlett, Morgan Srail, MaryRose Hillstrom, and Kristen Capcik will compete against divers from universities in Michigan, Kentucky, Ohio and Indiana for seven spots to advance to the final NCAA Diving Championships.

Ohio head coach Greg Werner explained that, unlike swimmers, who qualify for NCAA Championship with a specific time standard, divers have to compete in Zone Championships to earn their spot in the NCAA finals.

Werner said it’s going to be a “very competitive meet,” because these are notoriously strong states for diving and include a lot of Division-1 schools.

Werner added that having four divers qualify for zones this year is a “tremendous accomplishment,” something that has not been done before in his 17-year tenure with Ohio University.

The ‘Cats will compete from the one-meter board on Thursday, and the three-meter board on Friday.