President Declares June Storms Major Disaster In Ohio

Posted on:

< < Back to

Nearly 20 counties in Southeast Ohio are slated to receive federal aid for expenses resulting from severe weather at the end of June and early July.

President Barack Obama Monday declared a major disaster in Ohio and ordered federal aid for areas affected by severe storms in the state earlier this summer.
Obama announced the federal aid would be used to repair and replace damaged facilities in more than three dozen counties, including Athens, Belmont, Fairfield and Franklin counties.
The money will be available on a cost-sharing basis for state and local governments, and certain private nonprofit organizations.
Federal funding also is available for hazard mitigation measures.
The storms hit between June 29 and July 2.
It caused widespread power outages and strewed significant debris, leaving many power customers in the dark for as long as 10 days. 
As many as three people were killed.
Damage has been initially estimated at $29 million.
Emergency officials say there could be additional designations later if they assess more damage.