Disaster Declaration for WV Counties

Posted on:

< < Back to

President Barack Obama has signed a disaster declaration for portions of West Virginia that were slammed by severe weather one month ago.

The declaration announced Saturday provides federal funding to state and local governments, as well as some private non-profit organizations. The funding is for emergency work and the repair or replacement of structures damaged by storms, high winds, flooding and landslides.

The severe weather occurred from July 10 through July 14. The affected counties include Braxton. Clay, Lincoln, Logan, Nicholas, Roane, Webster and Wood.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.