Seven Ohio Football Players Named Phil Steele All-MAC

Posted on:

< < Back to

Ohio football placed seven players on the 2012 Phil Steele All-Mid American Conference team on Tuesday. 

Two of the Bobcats were selected to the First Team, another pair landed on the Second Team, and three of the 'Cats were placed on the Third Team. 

Eric Herman, senior offensive lineman, and Beau Blankenship, junior running back, both earned First Team honors. Quarterback Tyler Tettleton and senior center Skyler Allen were named to the Second Team. Three more Bobcats made the cut, with senior kicker Matt Weller, senior defensive lineman Neal Huyhn, and senior returner Ryan Clark all earning Third Team spots. 

Blankenship was also named second team All-MAC in November after a record setting season. The junior broke the Ohio single-season rushing record with 1,500 yards for 2012. 

Herman had another successful season at right guard. He made his 50th consecutive start in Ohio's regular season finale at Kent State. Allen started every game for the 'Cats at center in 2012. 

Tettleton threw for over 2,500 yards during the 2012 campaign becoming the only quarterback to throw for over 2,500 yards in back to back seasons. 

Weller is a 12 time MAC player of the week and in 2012, went 25-of-34 in field goals, connecting on 73.3 percent of his attempts.

Clark averaged 8.1 yards per return and was sixth in the MAC in that category.