State Identifies New 70 MPH Speed Zones

Posted on:

< < Back to

The Ohio Department of Transportation (ODOT) unveiled a map today identifying the interstate highway locations where motorists will be legally permitted to drive 70 mph beginning this summer.   

Motorists will be permitted to drive 70 mph on interstates that are "outside urbanized areas" after a state transportation budget bill goes into effect on July 1st.

Thirty-four other states have posted speed limits of 70 mph or higher including Indiana, Michigan, Kentucky and West Virginia.

ODOT is making 317 new signs to comply with the legislation and to alert motorists to the increased speed limit. 

The signs are expected to be in place and revealed on July 1.

The new law increases the speed on 570 miles of interstate highways in Ohio, including Interstate 70 from the Indiana border in the west to just outside Wheeling in the east.