Board Approves Names For New Buildings And Regional Campuses

Posted on:

< < Back to

The Ohio University Board of Trustees on Thursday approved the naming of two buildings at the Athens campus and also the naming of two new campuses in the Columbus area.

The new indoor athletic facility, located adjacent to Peden Stadium, is officially named the Walter Fieldhouse, after Robert and Margaret Walter. The Walters are 1967 graduates of Ohio University.

The building also features special vertical doors that would be opened on the east, west, and south sides of the building to allow water to rush through in the event of rising flood waters.

The board also officially approved naming the new home of the Scripps College of Communication.

The building at 20 E. Union Street, previously home to the original Baker University Center, will be called the Steven L. Schoonover Center for Communication, after its chief private donor. Schoonover is also a 1967 graduate of Ohio University.

At the same time, the board approved the naming of Ohio University Dublin, a new campus in the Columbus area, and the Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine Dublin, a medical campus in the same area.

The University secured 104 acres of land for the campus in Dublin, 14.8 of which will be used by the three-building medical campus.

The board voted in consensus on all three namings.