Update: Vinton County Now Under Level 2 Snow Emergency

Posted on:

< < Back to

UPDATE 3:15 p.m. Hocking County has downgraded to a Level 1 Snow Emergency.  Additionally, Pickaway County has cancelled its Level 1 Snow Emergency.

UPDATE 1:04 p.m. Vinton County has been downgraded to a level-two snow emergency, according to the Vinton County Sheriff’s Office.

Sheriffs from Vinton and Meigs counties are telling residents of their jurisdictions to stay off the roads Monday morning.

Both counties are under a Level 3 Snow Emergency.

All roads are closed to non-emergency personnel and schools.

Only those considered essential personnel are being permitted on the roads.

Athens, Gallia, Hocking, Jackson, Lawrence, Morgan, Noble, Pike, Scioto and Washington counties were under a level-two snow emergency mid-morning Monday.

Motorists should use extreme caution.

Belmont, Coshocton, Fairfield, Guernsey, Licking, Monroe, Muskingum, Perry, Pickaway and Ross counties remained under a Level One Snow Emergency meaning roads were hazardous with ice and blowing and drifting snow.

The ice and snowfall affected the power grid as well as the roads.

Power was restored to 1,747 AEP Ohio customers in Jackson County, Ohio, who lost service earlier today.

As of 10 a.m. AEP Ohio’s outage map showed no power outages in the state.

The Ohio Department of Transportation District 10 reported 100 snow plows still operating in Athens, Gallia, Hocking, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Noble, Vinton and Washington Counties as of 10 a.m.

ODOT said drivers had about three more hours left on their 12 hour shift.

During that time crews were continuing to clear the shoulders and ensure hills, curves and overpasses were properly treated.

A Winter Storm Warning was canceled for Athens County by mid-morning.

That warning remained in effect for counties south in Ohio and West Virginia.