Nine Field Hockey Players Earn National Academic Honors

Posted on:

< < Back to

The Ohio field hockey team continues to earn top honors, this time in the form of a 2013 National Academic Team Award. This award required all athletes to maintain a cumulative GPA of a 3.0.

Along with being recognized as a team, nine student-athletes have also been rewarded for their hard work as being deemed 2013 National Field Hockey Coaches Association Division I National Academic Squad.

Katherine Fenzel, Luli Gomez-Teruel, Riley Higgins, Franziska Schmiedel, Ashley Cureton, Caelyn Hartley, Danielle Rissmiller, Clarissa Leickly and Hannah Kingsbury all earned spots on the National Academic squad by maintaining a GPA above 3.30.

Leading her team in academics was Hartley, earning at least a 3.90 and being awarded with the Scholars Distinction Award from the NFHCA. This was her fourth year as a member for the National Academic Squad and second consecutive year with the Scholars Distinction.

These awards followed previously earned All-MAC academic awards given to Gomez Teruel, Hartley and Leickly.