Student Productions Recognized by Ohio Valley Regional Chapter of NATAS

Posted on:

< < Back to

WOUB student productions have received three student production awards and several honorable mentions from the Ohio Valley regional chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

For the fourth year in a row, and seventh time in its 16 year history, Gridiron Glory has been recognized in the Sports category. The student-produced show features regional coverage of high school football, showcasing season highlights and analysis and coach and player interviews. The live show airs at 11:30 Friday nights throughout the football season. Students recognized are: Jimmer Eckhardt, Mark Bobson, Nathan Takitch and Emily Mueting.

The Bobcat Sports Showcase is being recognized for a fourth time in the Sports category. The student-produced show features Ohio University varsity sports and airs at 11 p.m. Fridays throughout the school year. Students recognized are: Morgan Overbey, Mark Dohner, Logan Riely, Lucas Widman, Anthony Baucco, Allie Dosmann, Matthew Doyle, Charlie Walter and Tajah Smith.

Angela Reighard has been recognized in the News-General Assignment category for the feature Marriage Equality Billboard Brawl. The story focuses a billboard in the Columbus area that sparked a debate on marriage equality issues.


Honorable mentions were given to:

Newswatch, Election special – Newscast

Kelsey Hoak, producer; Emily Mueting, associate producer; Mark Bobson, director; Nathan Takitch, anchor; Blaine Carragher, anchor

Prison shelter dog program – News – general assignment

Angela Reighard, reporter; Carly Maurer, videographer; Olivia Bevan, producer

A Mother’s Story About the Dangers of Drug Abuse – News – General Assignment

Angela Reighard, reporter

Hardwood Heroes – Sports

Zahara Pruitt, co-producer; Nick Komjati, co-producer; Thomas Tamesis, director; Blaine Carragher, host; Justin Holbrock, online host; Nathan Wiseman, online host; Kelsie Rinard, web and social media coordinator; Kellen Becoats, web and social media coordinator

For the fourth year in a row, an Ohio University student is the recipient of the David C. Clarke Memorial Scholarship. Bianca Hillier, a junior studying broadcast journalism at Ohio University, is the recipient of this year’s $3,000 scholarship.

The Ohio Valley Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences is one of 19 regional chapters throughout the United States. The chapter presents the Emmy awards to television professionals in thirteen markets in West Virginia, Ohio, Indiana and Kentucky.

Find a complete list of the winners. 

The scholarship and awards will be presented Saturday, July 25 in Lexington, Kentucky.