Photo Credit: Jeffrey Zide – WOUB

Ohio Hockey Dominates Alabama, 6-2

Posted on:

< < Back to

The Bobcats were rough and tough Friday night after big hits and seven total team penalties but took advantage of the toughness and scored three shorthanded goals in Ohio’s 6-2 victory over Alabama.

Sophomore Drew Grandall was called for tripping early in the first period, but the ‘Cats killed the penalty with a Matt Rudin goal which put Ohio up 1-0.

Later, Derek Rahme was called and disqualified for a checking penalty. Again shorthanded, Ohio’s Grant Hazel fought and scored with 6.5 seconds remaining in the first. Ohio was up 2-0 on two shorthanded scores.

“I gotta accept what I did. They said it wasn’t a clean hit by any stretch of the imagination. So I just gotta accept my punishment and be mature and accept it so I’m not gonna complain about it. I gotta take my lumps. I’m just disappointed I left the guys underhanded,” said Rahme. Because of his disqualification, Rahme will not be able to play in the next game.

Alabama was down but far from out. Only down two goals, Jerry Jordan cut the score to 2-1 with 17 minutes left in the second period.

The Crimson Tide rolled, but Ohio’s Alex Vazquez stopped momentum with a goal to put the Bobcats up 3-1.

Ohio started to roll and Alabama would not score again until the ‘Cats had tacked on two more goals. At the end, Ohio dominated with a 6-2 final score but also dominated shots on goal, out-shooting Alabama 40-9.

Ohio was thrilled with the win, but the game was not without tense moments. In the first period, Alabama’s Griffin Butler went down after a big hit in front of the Ohio bench. Butler was able to skate off on his own ability after a short time. Near the end of the game, Ohio’s Matt Wipper laid a huge hit but hit his head on the rink under the glass. Wipper was down for an extended period and needed help standing up but did skate off the ice.

Ohio (14-2-1) will look to continue a six game winning streak Saturday night against Alabama (3-8) in Bird Arena. Also on Saturday, four new members in Dan Morris, Paul Marshall, Bill Roen, and Leon Rozic will be inducted into the Ohio Hockey Hall of Fame.