Graphic Design Seniors Celebrate OU Experience with “Wobble” Exhibit

Posted on:

< < Back to

The Ohio University School of Art + Design will present Wobble, an exhibition curated by the graphic design undergraduate class of 2016, featuring the original work of B.F.A. seniors. The show will be on view March 29 – April 2 in the Ohio University Art Gallery, located on the fifth floor of Seigfred Hall.

This exhibition, featuring 23 individual works from the senior graphic design class, is meant to celebrate the end of their undergraduate education at Ohio University and the growth they have experienced during the time they have spent there.

An opening reception and award ceremony, scheduled for  Tuesday, March 29, from 6 p.m. to  8 p.m.,  will be preceded by a talk from visiting critic Kevin Krueger at 5 p.m. in Mitchell Auditorium across from the gallery.

When structuring the exhibition, the graphic design class of 2016 wrote this statement:

“As designers we are in constant flux, trying to achieve equilibrium. We have to adapt the way we work by considering outside factors and opinions. When something doesn’t work, we try again. We need to be flexible and open to change, yet rooted enough in our educational foundation to confidently stand our ground. We can reach equilibrium when the designer, the client, and the message align.

Wobble challenges the status quo. It indicates the physicality of our body of work, embraces interdisciplinary practices, and references the instability of existing constructs as applied to both the field of graphic design and society as a whole. Our intention is to alter perceptions, allowing the opportunity for new insights, ideas, and explorations.

“We have been immersed in a dynamic environment as graphic design students, and have encountered several obstacles that taught us how to react to change. Each transition results in growth as we respond to new environments. Ultimately, it will be up to us to wobble through every change.”

Participating artists include Aaron Brown, Alex Calmus, Andrew Doherty, Eli Flannagan, Kelsey Hanson, Michael Jung, Elijah Justice, Katie Mallow, Olivia Mayfield, Nathalie McClune, Sula Medovoy, Nasra Mohamed, Jesse Neville, Kelsey Pohl, Taylor Reeves, Euzhan Shabazz, Laurel Sira, Kailee Slusser, Kaleigh Sutherland, Evan Taylor, Ye Tian, Amber Van Dyke and Zhizhen Xiong.

Kevin Krueger, a creative director at the strategic design firm MULTIPLE, INC. will give a keynote lecture, and an award ceremony will be held Tuesday March 29, 2016 from 5 p.m. to 6 p.m. For more information about the participating artists, visit

The Ohio University Art Gallery is located at 536 Seigfred Hall, Ohio University, Athens. Public gallery hours are Monday through Saturday, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. and 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Thursday.

Wobble poster