Ky. House Republicans Announce Leadership Team For Next 2 Years

Posted on:

< < Back to

FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) – Republicans preparing to take control of the Kentucky House have selected the rest of their leadership team for the next two years, and it includes some newcomers to leadership.

Rep. David Osborne was chosen by his colleagues on Wednesday as speaker pro tem, while Rep. Jonathan Shell was selected majority floor leader.

Shell played a key role in recruiting House candidates this year, when Republicans ended nearly a century of Democratic control of the House.

Republicans will hold a commanding 64-36 House majority when the legislature convenes in January. The GOP also holds the governorship and Senate.

Republicans recently chose House Minority Floor Leader Jeff Hoover to become speaker.

The House GOP leadership team also will include Rep. David Meade as majority caucus chair and Rep. Kevin Bratcher as majority whip.