Three W. Va. Schools Named As ‘Blue Ribbon’ Schools

Posted on:

< < Back to

CHESTER, W.Va. (AP) – Three West Virginia schools have been recognized as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2018.

The schools are East Lynn Elementary in Wayne County, Allen T. Allison Elementary in Hancock County, and Mount Lookout Elementary in Nicholas County.

The honor is based on a school’s overall academic performance or progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.

West Virginia Superintendent of Schools Steven Paine said that the state is privileged to have three National Blue Ribbon Schools. He said he’s proud that they are representing the state.

An awards ceremony will be held next month in Washington.

U.S. Education Secretary Betsy DeVos announced the recipients on Monday.