Joe Burrow accepts the 2019 Heisman Trophy [ESPN]

Athens’ Own Joe Burrow Wins Heisman Trophy in Landslide Vote

Posted on:

< < Back to

LSU quarterback Joe Burrow won the Heisman Trophy in a record landslide vote, becoming the first Tigers’ player to take home college football’s most prestigious award in 60 years.

Louisiana State University quarterback lifts very heavy Heisman Trophy
“So when I lift this trophy again, it’s for LSU, Ohio State, Southeast Ohio, and all of Louisiana. Thank you.” Joe Burrow, 2019 Heisman Trophy winner (screenshot | ESPN)

The Athens High School Alumnus received 2,608 points and 841 first-place votes. Burrow broke Heisman records for percentage of first-place votes received, percentage of total points received and margin of victory.

Oklahoma quarterback Jalen Hurts was second with 762 points.

Burrow transferred to LSU from Ohio State last season where he was a sparingly used reserve. After finishing strong in 2018, he broke out this season, setting a Southeastern Conference record with 48 touchdown passes and leading top-ranked LSU to its first College Football Playoff appearance.

During his acceptance speech Burrow acknowledged his hometown, “Coming from southeast ohio. it’s a very very impoverished area. The poverty rate is almost 2 times the national average. There are so many people there that don’t have a lot. And I’m up here for all those kids in Athens and in Athens County who go home to not a lot of food on the table, hungry after school – you guys can be up here too.”

Read how Burrow’s acceptance speech sparked thousands to donate funds.